Showing posts with label Rant. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Rant. Show all posts

Sunday, January 30, 2011

To be wise is to be sad.

It sucks being the smartest person I know. I'm not trying to sound prideful, well maybe a little. But when my life is screwed up, when the chips are down, I don't have anyone to go to. It's lonely at the top. It's fun to be the one person dispensing advice until your the one who needs it. Shoot, it's not even that fun to dispense it. No one takes my advice even when they ask for it.

The terrible thing about wisdom is that it's a mirror, a true unflinching mirror. There is no hiding from it if you want to keep it. Ignorance is bliss which means that wisdom is sorrow.

Thursday, December 11, 2008

Today was supposed to be a good day.

I could almost feel it as I woke up. Despite the queasy stomach ache that I have never had before I could feel that today was going to be good. Not because it was going to be good to me but because I was going to plow through it all and make it good. I was wrong.

It was not so much what happened as a combination of things that didn't happen. Yesterday was a good day and that was surprising. I went to the gym, hung out with a friend and had a good time. Coming off of that high and into today I thought things were looking up. Work was ok, and I was having a good text conversation with another friend. Things seemed promising. Without going into specifics it just felt like everything... just kinda left me hanging. It wasn't even big stuff. I feel like a stupid house of cards sometimes. Just the slightest of things can ruin me. Which is odd because serious challenges brings out my resolve. I got a speeding ticket one day and I felt great because it gave me a opportunity to handle a concrete issue. It is the doldrums, not the storm, that destroys me. Someone can say or do the wrong thing and I'm crushed. I know it's not fair to hold other people accountable for my happiness. Yet I don't know how realistic to is to absolve everyone of responsibility regarding my emotional well being. People can be rude, mean, and cruel. To think that this shouldn't have an effect on a person is naive.


People have told me that no one can make me feel anything that I don't want. People have said to me that no one can force me to do anything. They claim that I always have a choice in deciding how I react. I disagree. People can force their wills on others, to a degree, no matter how a person may resist. I've been told that I have to be the bigger man. That really doesn't make sense to me. Growing up was a rather tortuous experience for me. Some have said that even though I suffered great pains back then I can overcome them now and lead a rich, full, and happy life. They even go so far to say that it is my obligation to those around me to do this. I'm going to use a metaphor here to hopefully explain why this feels so absurd to me. Imagine running in a marathon. At the start of the race some one purposely trips you and then slams their foot down on your leg and ankle. That person is never caught, they run on with the rest of the race. Now your told that even though your the victim here you need to get up and run. Even though your leg, the part of you that allows you to run, had been injured. This injury makes the act of just standing painful, walking becomes a nightmare, and trying run is unimaginable. And your not just being told to run, no! Your being told you have to catch up to the rest of the runners. You have to finish. You have to win!


That's what it feels like to me.


How can I be happy when the part of me that feels is broken. It's not even my fault yet I'm the one that has to deal with it. Someone said in reference to this, "So what if your childhood was bad. There's nothing you can do about it now. All you can do is make the rest of your life good." Well that sounds, nice in a pick yourself up by the bootstraps kind of way. They said "Well what do you want? What could make it better?" Their assuming that nothing could fix things. Well there wrong. I want a free pass on the next twenty years of my life. That's right. The first twenty or so where unnecessarily hard. So it's only fair I get a free ride for the next twenty. Even then it may not fix anything. But at least then there would be balance, there would be justice. I know that this isn't a realistic possibility. But I'm a little sick of hearing "The victim must pay for what the victimizer did." Which goes hand in hand with statements like "We're tired of listening to you, tired of you being gloomy. Cheer up or go away. You must like being sad otherwise you'd shake yourself out of this depression."

Now I don't mean to sound to terribly sad. Even here on this blog. My blog, and I'm still afraid to show all of what I feel. I'm afraid because of who might see. Afraid of who might mock. Afraid that those kind souls that do listen and console might get tired listening and consoling.

To those of you out there, you know who you are, I thank you. I just wanted to take some time to say it. I am so grateful for your words. For those who may just be reading I thank you as well. I hope that some good comes of it. Now I want to say that in writing this I am not asking to be cheered up. Please don't try. Just knowing you listen is far more comforting. This was just a bad day that was supposed to be a good day. It will pass. I write this because it helps to get it off my chest.

Friday, November 14, 2008

Notable Blogs and Crying Winds.

As I log into my blog I have noticed that a link. This link directs me to "Blogs of note." When I first saw this I thought well that's nice. They have a little showcase section for blogs. I wouldn't have thought anymore about it except that it is always there when I log in. It stares me in the face as if to say "Yeah here's a blog of note, and guess what... Its not yours." and then it laughs at me. I've become obsessed.

What does one have to do to get their blog onto the "blogs of note" list? Do I have to start including pictures, I can do that. Does my spelling and me grammar need be better, cuz I can change. Do I need to send the powers that run the "blogs of note" fancy gifts and bribes, because I can... wait I can't do that. Not in this economy anyway.

I mean I've looked at some of these so called "blogs of note", there more like "blogs of not!" Or perhaps I should say naught, because they don't seem very noteworthy to me. That's just one man's opinion, one bitter and jaded man's opinion. It's just as valid as any other.

So I stand up for myself. I call out to the world "Here I am, this is my blog, and it is noteworthy." And I hear my voice echo in the empty theater. It's a harsh sound, but listening to it grants me insight. I know why the shrieking wind howls. It is because it's lonely and wants attention. It doesn't get it as the gentle breeze and so it works destruction and forces you to observe it.

Well this has been my rant. It all could have been avoided if someone at "blogs of note" had noted my blog. I even tried to look up their criteria for blogs wanting to qualify as notable. There was nothing posted. It felt like they were going out of their way to be aloof. Like the Gods on Olympus dispensing favors and punishments in a truly arbitrary fashion. We mortals toil as they pull the strings of fate and we dance like puppets for their amusement.

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

More bad news from Buddha

"A dog is not considered a good dog because he is a good barker. A man is not considered a good man because he is a good talker."
-Buddha


Well thanks a lot Buddha. That's another thing you've said that makes sense. Yet it hurts me because I have tried to refine myself into a good speaker. I like to think of myself as a man of words. Not that I'm good at small talk. But I like to think that I am good at conveying my ideas. I also used to think that this made me a better man. Then Buddha comes along with his infinite wisdom, and ruins it all for me.

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

If Buddha can't help, who can?

So in Patrick Rothfuss' blog today he spoke about a Buddhist teaching that initially seemed very very appealing to me.

He said "One of the foundation stones of Buddhist philosophy is" "that desire leads to suffering.

"For example: You see a kid at the grocery store. He wants a candy bar. His mom says no. Result? Suffering. He pitches a fit. Similarly, when I was in my early twenties, I spent a long time desiring various types of romance, and because none was forthcoming, suffering ensued. Much suffering.

"It's simple. The more things you desire, the greater your potential for suffering. It's basic math. And when you stop to think about it, the solution is obvious. If you want less suffering in your life, you simply have to reduce your desires. You need to let go of things." -Patrick Rothfuss

And for about ten minutes I felt better about the world. I tried to unshackle myself from all my desires. It was quite liberating. But then I started thinking. Even if I could get myself to stop wanting things, that fact alone would not make my life any better.

You have failed me once again Buddha and Patrick.

Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Oh, I'm sorry... Am I getting to real for you?

So lately I have had these discussions with various people, friends I guess is what you'd call them. I don't mean to be mean but I'm in a bad place right now. So please take this all with a grain of sugar.

But anyway these discussions. I begin these conversations with the people in my life. They start out innocent enough. I even begin talking playfully about life. Then the conversation turns dark. I have no problem with dark. I like it, I prefer it. Because that's where I am right now. I'm in a dark place. The only way I know how to survive that is to go dark. In the light we fear the dark because we cannot see what lies within it. Once out of the light and in the dark's embrace, it can be a very comforting place if you let it be. Yet at the same time it's the worst place on earth to be.

And because that is where I am right now it is very real for me. It's all I can think about. That is not to say that I want to stay in the dark. Far from it. But I find myself in a place where the dark is plentiful and the light is sparse. So when my friends and family ask me how I'm doing I want to tell them. I want to tell them the truth about me though. I don't want to lie and say I'm fine. When they ask how my day is going should I incorrectly tell them it's going good? They are my friends and family after all. They are the ones that should be close to me. The ones that should help me in times like these.

So when I try to tell them that things aren't going well they push me away. Why? Do I scare them? I don't mean to. It's not as though I threatening them or anything. They ask me how I'm doing. I tell them I'm not so good. They ask why or what they can do to help. I try to explain things. I begin speaking about how I wake up every day and have to talk myself into living. I hear others good news and feel bad inside. Is it envy, do I wish to have good things happen to me? Or is it hate, hate for those who are succeeding when I am not? I do not know. I talk about an emptiness inside of me that just seems to eat at me and eat at me. When I talk about these things they look at me as if to ask why I brought them into this awkward situation. Then they start to back pedal. They laugh off what I have said. They change the subject. They let the matter drop or stop talking to me.

These things I talk to them about are all cries for help and they have failed to answer them. Well done for them. I'm sorry if having to contemplate the pain I live with everyday such inconvenience for them. It must be really tough having to listen to someone your supposed to care about. Well I'll try not to burden them anymore, at least not with this blog entry.

Thursday, October 23, 2008

You know what I hate?

People trying to talk to me when I have my headphones on. When i have my headphones on its my way of saying,"Don't talk to me." What is it about this that people don't get. I understand if there is some urgent need to talk to me then by all means interrupt my music and say, "Hey there's a huge bolder rolling towards you," or "Hey your walking on my foot." But if your talking to me just to say hi and I have my headphone on... what the heck man!

Friday, October 17, 2008

You know what I hate?

People that try to get on the elevator before you get off.

Thursday, August 21, 2008

The Value of the Unreal

So I was talking to my friend, who for the sake of kicks and giggles we shall refer to as the Delightful Picnic. Somehow our conversation turned to the topic of animation vs. live action and which is of greater value. I'm going to reiterate some of Delightful Picnic's points. I hope he doesn't get mad at me if I don't convey them word for word. I'm not perfect but I hope to get his meaning across. But if I get it wrong he can berate me later. Even if I do mess up Delightful Picnic's intent there are other people who genuinely think the things that I am going to bring up.

Delightful Picnic said that a story presented to him in live action form would have more meaning and a greater impact on him than if it were portrayed in an animated format. Now for me being a glass is half empty kind of guy I look at that statement and reword it. To me it says animation is inferior, it is not of the same value as live action, animation is not something of merit.

I disagree with those sentiments. I don't value animation over live action, I believe either medium is capable of greatness and value. I also think that each medium is just as capable of failure. Now there are some stories that I think can only be told through animation. But with the advent of computer animation there are a lot of previous impossibilities that are now shattered. A Spider-man movie would have been super corny without a computer generated Spidey capable of web slinging through New York. Lord of the Rings wouldn't have been as good without augmented images. (True there was a earlier Lord of the rings which was animated and it was terrible, a fact which may seem to contradict my point here but let me go on.) And the fact that live action is now relying more and more on computer animation, and incorporating it into their story telling process is, I think, quite telling. It's indicative of the value of animation. Of that which is not real.

This was another one of Delightful's arguments. He said that something that isn't real isn't believable. "Because it's not real it's not going to be able interact with me, a real person."

The point that I'd like to make is that if you automatically dismiss all of animation and it's potential value just because it's animation, well that is doing a disservice to your self and animation. Animation is capable of evoking just as strong of an emotional response as real people. A good story is a good story no matter how it's packaged. To think differently is snobbish elitism.

I believe one of the reasons Delightful and people like him think the way they do is as follows. "Kids like cartoons. I watched cartoons as a kid. Cartoons are for kids, I'm not a kid anymore. I can't like cartoons anymore. I'm supposed to be an adult and like adult things with more mature themes." While a lot of animation is aimed at children that does not mean that animation aimed at adults is not good just because its animation.

Now I've mentioned before that I'd like to be a writer. Specifically I'd like to write books in the fantasy genre. That genre is not just fiction but its a very unreal type of fiction. Fantasy stories are about worlds that are very far removed from our own. Yet I feel that if those stories are told well they can grant us insight into the human condition. I believe they can reach us in a very deep, personal, and meaningful way. Fantasy fiction and animation have a lot in common. So when someone minimalizes animation I feel they are also attacking the Fantasy genre, and in a broader sense imagination itself.

I know it's a kind of slippery slope argument I'm presenting but somethings really are a slippery slope. The first time mankind looked out across creation it set his mind afire with wonder. It is that fire that has lit the advance of civilization. The day that fire goes out is the day humanity ceases to be human. Dreams make the waking hours bearable. I think the best way to live one's life is with you head in the clouds so long as you keep your feet on solid ground.

Animation is very conducive to the imagination. And the wonders of the imagination are a feat not to be missed.

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Learn to say it right.

Uniblogger. It's Repository, not Suppository.

Tuesday, July 29, 2008

Why Dr. Horrible is good

Recently I had a friend who upon my advise watched Dr. Horrible. As he finished it I asked him excitedly.
"Wasn't that awesome?"
"No," he said, "no it wasn't."
"Yeah it was." I said.
"Look I know that you like that type of thing. Stories where the popular guy loses-"

I interrupted him there because that's not why I like Dr. Horrible, well maybe a little bit. But there's more to it than that. It's not just a story with a sad ending. It's a story with a sad meaningful ending.

Spoiler Alert
Dr.Horrible is good because it's a super villain musical that stays true to it's premise. When I watched the first two episodes I was really afraid of how the third was going to end. The setup of the show made me want to see Dr. Horrible and Penny end up together, and see Captain Hammer get his comeuppance.

Now Penny doesn't seem like the type of girl who could be in love with a super villain no matter how benign of lovable he may be. Unless she were to change drastically she could never love our good doctor. And all of Penny's charm is linked to her good nature. If she were to change I wouldn't like her and the story would fall apart.

So that would seem to leave Dr. Horrible with the burden of changing. My mind concocted a ending with Dr. Horrible giving up a life of evil for Penny. That or Dr. Horrible becoming a good guy, Captain Hammer would then become a bad guy and they'd fight. Both of these endings feel like cop outs. They're both weak and leave a bad taste in the mouth.

But those type of ending are what I have come to expect these days. Thankfully this show had the guts to keep Dr. Horrible evil. He got to see his dreams come true and all it cost him was the one person he loved. How can you not like that. Bittersweet? Yes, but still awesome.

Saturday, July 26, 2008

The Lost Art of Apology

It seems as though people can't say their sorry anymore. Perhaps they've forgotten how. Just as bad is when someone tries to apologize but they're not really apologizing. Have you ever had someone say to you after a argument, "I'm sorry that you feel that way." Or this one, "I'm sorry that you got offended, sorry that you got hurt." When people say this they are trying to apologize without actually admitting they did something wrong. It's akin to the times that we all had when we were little kids. We'd get caught stealing cookies, or playing ball inside the house. Then we'd say we're sorry. But we weren't sorry for what we did, we were sorry that we got caught.